Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Universal Declaration of Human Rights (simplified version)
source: BBC

1 All Human beings are free and equal in dignity and rights

2 All people are entitled to rights without distinction based on race, colour, sex, language, religion, opinion, origin, property, birth or residency

3 Right to life liberty and security of person

4 Freedom from slavery

5 Freedom from torture

6 Right to be treated equally by the law

7 Right to equal protection by the law

8 Right for all to effective remedy by competent tribunal

9 Freedom from arbitrary arrest

10 Right to fair public hearing by Independent tribunal

11 Right to presumption of innocence until proven guilty at public trial with all guarantees necessary for defence

12 Right to privacy in home, family and correspondence

13 Freedom of movement in your own country and the right to leave and return to any countries

14 Right to political asylum in other countries

15 Right to nationality

16 Right to marriage and family and to equal right of men and women during and after marriage

17 Right to own property

18 Freedom of thought and conscience and religion

19 Freedom of opinion and expression and to seek, receive and impart information

20 Freedom of Association and assembly

21 Right to take part in and select government

22 Right to social security and realisation of economic, social and cultural rights

23 Right to work, to equal pay for equal work and to form and join trade unions

24 Right to reasonable hours of work and paid holidays

25 Right to adequate living standard for self and family, including food, housing, clothing, medical care and social security

26 Right to education

27 Right to participate in cultural life and to protect intellectual property rights

28 Right to social and international order permitting these freedoms to be realised

29 Each person has responsibilities to the community and others as essential for a democratic society

30 Repression in the name of rights is unacceptable